Thursday, February 11, 2010

New twist to SAM-100 Plus Excellence Awards

UPDATED, Friday Feb 12, 11.0am

Overall winner of the SAM-KBS media awards stand to take home this trophy plus cash RM7,000. There are six categories of the award, namely best news report - print, commentary - print, best news report - electronic, commentary (electronic) special report - print and electronic and best photography. Winner of each category will receive RM3,000 and a trophy.

The Athlete of the Year will take home RM10,000 and this trophy

from left SAM vice-president Eric Samuel, president Ahmad Khawari Isa, Datuk Kamal Harun, F&N national corporate affairs manager and Jin Ye of F&N at the press conference


Cycling champ Azizulhasni Awang

Swimming sensation Daniel Bego

Squash star Datuk Nicol Ann David

Datuk Lee Chong Wei

One of the most prestigious awards in the sporting world is the Ballon D'or, or widely known as the European Footballer of the Year award. It was conceived by France Football journalist, Gabriel Hanot. As many as 96 journalists around the globe pick the top five players on an annual basis. The FIFA annual awards, by contrast, invite coaches of national teams affiliated to FIFA, numbering more than 200 countries, to cast their votes. The PFA Awards in England is the province of the professionals, where players pick the winners among their colleagues.

The Sportswriters Association of Malaysia (SAM) awards, a prestigious award in the days of yore, was traditionally restricted to an elite few. These individuals formed a selection committee comprising experts before picking the winner. This year, it's open to all members of SAM. A step that is designed to involve members.

So come Feb 20, journalists who have access to the athletes, the sports fraternity and statistics, will pick the winner or winners of the SAM-100 Plus awards to be graced by Deputy Prime Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Mohd Yassin.

The shortlisted candidates are Datuk Lee Chong Wei, Datuk Nicol Ann David, Azizulhasni Awang, Daniel Bego, Leong Mun Yee-Pandelela Rinong and the women's badminton team.

Another highly anticipated event is the sports journalism awards. More than 100 entries have been submitted for the six categories.

No comments: