Saturday, May 30, 2009

Jega re-elected and status quo maintained

The results

Cik Hajjah Norminshah Sabirin monitoring the vote count

The OCM delegates

"It was the first time I stood for elections. After discussions with a few people, I decided to face the challenge because I did not want to be labelled as having run away from a fight," so said Dr Jega to a few members of the Press

The 2009-2011 line-up
Back row (from left): Moira Tan, A Sani Karim, Roy Rajasingham, Ramlay Ibrahim, Kee Yong Wee, Ang Teck Lee. Front row (from left): Low Beng Choo, Sieh Kok Chin, Tunku Imran Tuanku Ja'afar, Dr M. Jegathesan, Prof W.Y. Chin. Absent (Prof Zakaria Ahmad who was in the United States)

A thumping victory for Datuk Dr M. Jegathesan, whereas the candidates linked to the other camp were swept away by the delegates' decision to maintain the status quo.

So here's the Olympic Council of Malaysia (OCM) line-up for 2009-2011:

President: Tunku Imran Tuanku Jaafar (unopposed after Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim withdrew on Friday)

Deputy president: Datuk Dr M. Jegathesan (beat Datuk Seri Dr Ibrahim Saad 65-33)

Vice-presidents (4 men, 1 woman): Datuk Abdullah Sani Karim (95), Prof Datuk W. Y. Chin (89 votes), Prof Zakaria Ahmad (79), Datuk Roy Rajasingham (70). Former OCM general manager M.P. Haridas polled 59 votes. Low Beng Choo (unopposed as the women's VP).

Honorary secretary: Datuk Sieh Kok Chi (unopposed)

Honorary assistant secretary (man): Ramlay Ibrahim (51), Hisham Mohd Noor (23), L. Ramesh (18), Lawrence Yeow (3)

Honorary assistant secretary (woman): Moira Tan Siew See (52), Latifah Tan Sri Ya'cob (46)

Treasurer: Datuk Seri Kee Yong Wee (unopposed)

Assistant treasurer: Rosmanizam Abdullah @ Ang Teck Lee @ K.T. Rajah (unopposed)


Anonymous said...


u know why cameras and hp not allowed at polling both of ocm? well, the mhf boss wanted the delegates to vote for ibrahim saad but the delegates (cheema and gopi) did not want so they alerted jega and so two important votes for ibrahim went the other way.

Anonymous said...

such a pathetic result. it s a mirror of sports in the country. well congrats to the ibrahim and team for wanting to save sport. now just forget about it. malaysia wont have a contigent for 2012 games in london. Who's gonna qualify?

Anonymous said...

aku cadang kita tubuh Scumbags Federation of Malaysia. Senarai:
Presiden: Jega
Tim: Naim
Naib: George Heng; Cheema
Setiausaha: Kuo Chi
Bendaharu: Edwin Chong
dan Karim Ibrahim sebagai office-boy. apa macam? setuju ke bro?
Shahidan ini banggang sangat ke? Tak kanlah dia tak tahu koam dan asum yang buat Ibrahim Saad kalah.

Anonymous said...

What can I say about OCM Election...looks like another 2 years for the incumbents to show their worth. This time please hold their words to many of them had said they need this 2 years to do their jobs and whatever reasons for the future of OCM.

If at all any fail in their mission... there's no body else to be blamed but to those delegates that put them in. Shame on you.

It's sad after all the cries of about the state of the sports or how OCM was run, that many of the delegates still chose to vote the incumbents in... was it all for show?

Well, I'm not here to cry over spilled milk ...let those who have been elected show their real more talks but action. I have my eye on you guys (Newly elected committee of OCM)and mark my words I will see and hear all about you these next 2 years.

Observer said...

The voters were matured adults. Kudos to them for not wanting politicians to reign over sports organisations.

The message has been sent that the positions in OCM can no longer be used as stepping stone to further their personal, business and political agenda.

I salute all of you NSA's delegates.

David Jegamugam said...

K E R A N A KAU, Ku masih disini,
kerana kau, ku tak perlu malu,
Dan KERANA, engkau yang putuskan,
engkau yang pilihkuuuuuu...

trima keseeeehhhh!!!

OLDMAN said...

A wise man once said..If you do a certain thing in the same ways, then you are certain to get the same results.

The question one should ask themselves is " Am I happy with the results i.e. the performance, feedback, response etc.

If your answer is in the negative, then it wise according to the wiseman to DO THINGS DIFFERENTLY!

With reference to the OCM in particular the board members, it would be intersting to see them doing thngs 'differently'. How different..we will just have to wait and see.

In the mean time, My Congratulations goes out to them especially to those who were challenged by the so called 'worthy opponent'.

Every NOC, i'm told in a very revered organisation (outside Malaysia) hence their officials and representatives are somewhat like diplomats of the countries they represent. Can you imagine..what opinion would outsiders form of us if the results of the AGM wasnt what it is today (with exception to several persons)